Ariya Jutanugarn wins US Women’s Open on fourth play-off hole

first_imgShare via Email Share on Facebook US sports Italy’s political crisis spells problems for 2022 Ryder Cup host Share on WhatsApp Topics Since you’re here… Support The Guardian Sign up to The Recap, our weekly email of editors’ picks. Ewan Murray Golf European Tour Thailand’s Ariya Jutanugarn won the US Open in dramatic circumstances after recovering from a back-nine collapse to overcome the South Korean Kim Hyo-joo in a play-off at Shoal Creek in Alabama.Victory means Jutanugarn has become the first player from Thailand to win the championship. The 22-year-old made a clutch bunker shot to within a foot of the hole to save par, beating Kim, who shot a five-under 67 in the final round to force the play-off.Jutanugarn started the day with a four-shot lead over Australia’s Sarah Jane Smith and looked as if she might win easily after opening with four under par on the front nine to stretch her lead to seven shots.But a triple bogey at the 10th cut the lead to four and seemed to shake her confidence. Jutanugarn still had a two-shot lead with two holes remaining but closed with back-to-back bogeys to fall into a play-off after shooting 73.Earlier Italy’s Francesco Molinari came up agonisingly short in his bid for back-to-back wins and a third Italian Open title as Thorbjorn Olesen held his nerve to claim the fifth European Tour title of his career.The Dane shot a flawless closing 64 at Gardagolf to finish 22 under par, a shot ahead of the home favourite Molinari, who had won the PGA Championship at Wentworth the previous week.The two players had been tied for the lead with two holes remaining, but at the 17th Molinari followed four straight birdies by dropping only his second shot of the week while Olesen birdied the same hole in the group behind to take a two-shot lead. The Italian refused to give in throw in the towel and holed a curling birdie putt on the last from 40 feet to complete a 65 and pile on the pressure but Olesen got up and down from a greenside bunker for par to secure the first prize of £874,000 in the second Rolex Series event of 2018. “This is my first time coming from behind to win so that’s very special to me,” Olesen said after a victory which takes him just outside the automatic European qualifying places for September’s Ryder Cup, when his compatriot Thomas Bjorn captains the European side. news … we have a small favour to ask. More people, like you, are reading and supporting the Guardian’s independent, investigative journalism than ever before. And unlike many news organisations, we made the choice to keep our reporting open for all, regardless of where they live or what they can afford to pay.The Guardian will engage with the most critical issues of our time – from the escalating climate catastrophe to widespread inequality to the influence of big tech on our lives. At a time when factual information is a necessity, we believe that each of us, around the world, deserves access to accurate reporting with integrity at its heart.Our editorial independence means we set our own agenda and voice our own opinions. Guardian journalism is free from commercial and political bias and not influenced by billionaire owners or shareholders. This means we can give a voice to those less heard, explore where others turn away, and rigorously challenge those in power.We hope you will consider supporting us today. We need your support to keep delivering quality journalism that’s open and independent. Every reader contribution, however big or small, is so valuable. Support The Guardian from as little as $1 – and it only takes a minute. Thank you. Share on LinkedIn Share on Twitter Share on Pinterest Reuse this content Read more Share on Messenger Francesco Molinarilast_img read more

2016 Australian Team Announcement

first_imgThere’s plenty of exciting stories to come out of our Australian team announcement for the 2016 Trans Tasman Series. Join us as we look through the teams, pointing out some honourable mentions for the upcoming series. Men’s Open The Australian Men’s Open team sees 10 players return from the successful 2015 World Cup team, as well as 2015 World Cup Mixed Open champions Scott Bundy and Daniel Barton. Shaun Francis will wear the green and gold for the first time, while Jordan Marshall-King, Jayden Love and Lachlan Pierce have all transitioned through the Youth program into the Men’s Open team, with Marshall-King playing in the 2011 and 2013 Youth Trans Tasman Series events (20’s Boys), Love in the 2015 Youth Trans Tasman Series (20’s Boys) and Pierce in the 2013 Youth Trans Tasman Series (18’s Boys). Pierce, the 2015 Elite Eight Player of the Final and Player of the Series, follows in his late father’s footsteps by being selected in the Australian Men’s Open team. Craig Pierce represented Australia on 37 occasions, including three World Cups, and was inducted into the TFA Hall of Fame in 2003. Lachlan joins Peter Norman and Daniel Barton in the current team as players whose fathers have also represented Australia in the Men’s Open division.Women’s Open Nine players return to the Australian Women’s Open team from last year’s World Cup winning side, as well as Yasmin Meakes, who has moved into the Women’s team after two years in the Mixed program. The side welcomes Hayley Maddick for the first time in Australian colours in her international debut. Sisters being selected in the Australian Women’s Open team has been a regular occurrence over the past decade, with the likes of the Judd’s, Winchester’s, Hopkin’s and now the Davis’ sisters, Danni and Shellie. After captaining the Australian 18’s Girls team in 2015, Shellie joins Danni in the Women’s Open side for the 2016 series, with Danni heading into her third campaign in the Australian Women’s Open team. Four players from the Australian 18’s Girls team have transitioned into the Women’s Open side for the 2016 Trans Tasman Series – Shellie Davis, Tayla Clifford, Mia Johnstone and Emma Sykes. There’s plenty of youth in this Australian team, with three 18-year-olds (Shellie Davis, Tayla Clifford and Hannah Dyball) as well as two 17-year-olds (Mia Johnstone and Emma Sykes). Mixed Open Like the Women’s Open team, nine players from the 2015 World Cup winning side return to the Mixed Open team for the 2016 Trans Tasman Series. The six debutants in the team have all progressed through to the Open’s divisions from the Youth program in recent years – James Blackwood (2015 Australian 20’s Boys), Ciaran Toner (2013 Australian 18’s Boys and 2015 Australian 20’s Boys), Adam Pryde (2011 Australian 18’s Boys and 2013 Australian 20’s Boys), Paige Parker and Katherine Stevens (2015 Australian 20’s Girls) and Zara Nicholas (2015 Australian 18’s Girls). Keep up-to-date with all of the latest news and information in the lead up to the 2016 Trans Tasman Series:Website – – – (Be sure to use the #transtasman2016 hashtag)Instagram – YouTube – Related LinksAussie Team Announcementlast_img read more